full time to part time 4x4 hub converting question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bad_bo_ti, Jun 25, 2000.

  1. bad_bo_ti

    bad_bo_ti 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OhiO
    What all is needed to convert a full time hub to part time, do i just need new hubs? please let me know asap.
     
  2. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    Are you talking about a full time transfer case or swapping out the automatic hubs? I saw in your bio you have an 84 so I assume you want to swap the autos for locking hubs. Just remove the old hubs and buy whatever brand of locking that you like. I Put Warn on my 83 about 7 years ago and I like them alot. Good luck

    creepin and crawlin
    Jim
     
  3. bad_bo_ti

    bad_bo_ti 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OhiO
    Ok sorry i didnt make myself clear, i have a 3/4 ton front 10 bolt axle that was in a fulltime 4x4 suburban, i want to switch it over to the part time(locking hubs) so it will work with my truck. what all do i need for this to be done right?
     
  4. Waxer

    Waxer 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA.
    All you need then is to buy the hubs. Which ever you prefer. I run SuperWinch and couldnt be happier with them. Although everyone else seems to like Warn. I "had" a Fulltime 4wd 74 K5 and converted it to Part time with a Np205 tcase and manual locking hubs. They were easy to install, just remove the old ones, and install the new ones. Directions come with it.
     
  5. Shawn

    Shawn Nuckin Futz! Premium Member Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    5280'
    Build(s):
    3
  6. 79Cheyenne

    79Cheyenne 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta,GA
    After you put the manual hubs on, do you have to put the shifter into<font color=red> HI LOC<font color=black> or<font color=red> LO LOC<font color=black> or do you have to simply turn the hubs to lock? in other words wouldn't you be in 4wd when the shifter is in<font color=blue> HI<font color=black> with the hubs locked or is there a reason to put the shifter into<font color=red> HI LOC<font color=black>? I had always assumed that putting it in<font color=red> LOC<font color=black> actuated the automatic hubs(now that I don't have the automatic hubs do I still need<font color=red> LOC<font color=black>?)

    <font color=red>LO LOC<font color=red>
    <font color=blue>LO<font color=blue>
    N
    HI
    <font color=red>HI LOC<font color=red>

    <font color=black>Know what I mean Vern?

    <font color=orange>1979 BLAZER Cheyenne[​IMG]
     
  7. bigdaddy89

    bigdaddy89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 18, 2000
    Posts:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phx, Az

Share This Page