Brake booster dilemma

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MEMO43, May 22, 2020.

  1. MEMO43

    MEMO43 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Gardenrville NV
    OK subject is an 83 k5 with crate sbc 350 (35,000miles), 700r4 with np208.
    I replaced the booster about 3 months ago. Then noticed a hissing when applying the brakes, as well as shaking while at a stop.
    Replaced all vacuum hoses.
    Hose to booster
    Pcv hose
    Heater hoses as well as booster check valve, pcv. Still I get hissing when stepping on the brakes. I'm getting about 15" of vacuum through edelborock 1406 manifold port side at 750 rpms. Timing is at 17 initial 34 total.
    I live at 5500 feet but work at 6500 feet.
    Daily driver.
    I'm on the 3rd booster all from Napa
    When I spray carb cleaner around the intake, or any possible vac leak locations I get no change in idle speed.
    The base of the carb I get an increase in idle.
    Now I know I need to replace the gasket there.
    What else can cause my booster to leak air when applying brakes. The sound can be heard underneath the dash when..
    I'm almost at a lose here
    Any help would be appreciated.
    I'm a 911 operator and retired Marine, my next day off will be this mon (memorial day) an Tuesday after that it will be the following weekend.
    Where should I start other than the carb gasket


    Memo.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2020
  2. Wes Harden

    Wes Harden 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    Location:
    Southern Califorina
    it is bad internally when you are applying the brake the diaphragm moves there is either a small tare in it or a seal one of the rods is leaking. Replace the booster, hopefully is still under warranty.
     
  3. MEMO43

    MEMO43 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Gardenrville NV
    Wes this is the 3rd booster
    I changed two of them this weekend.
    I'm at a total lose on this one. Never had to change so many "new" boosters all with the same end result
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2020
  4. Wes Harden

    Wes Harden 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    Location:
    Southern Califorina
    if you only hear the leak in the cab when applying the brakes it's the booster. Only other solution is adjust to a rich mixture and turn the radio up. A richer the mixture will help with rough idle.

    Idk maybe something in the brake travel, rod length master cylinder rod adjustment is causing the booster to be damaged
     
  5. MEMO43

    MEMO43 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Gardenrville NV
    Thanks for the info
    I'll play with the A/F mixture.
    I'll check the travel rod as well
    Hopefully something simple im just overlooking
     
  6. TuckerK5

    TuckerK5 Incovignito! Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    3,527
    Location:
    Guntersville, Alabama
    Last edited: May 23, 2020 at 1:45 PM
  7. sweetk30

    sweetk30 5/8 ton status . . . just for BENT77 Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    34,461
    Likes Received:
    10,442
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    sounds like the problem i had years ago .

    83k10 truck removed cruise control and didnt know to remove the kill switch on the brake pedal under the dash that let vac from the engine open and dump the diaphragm for the cruise can . it would sit there and hissssssssss until brakes released .
     
    Wes Harden likes this.
  8. MEMO43

    MEMO43 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Gardenrville NV
    Sweetk30 thanks for the info
    I did notice I have two switches on the pedal
    I assumed on was for the brake lights and the other for the 700r4.
    I'll take a look and see which goes were.
    I do have a cruise control on the turn signal lever. But since I've owned it its never had Cruise control, wonder if its another PO mystery.
    Tucker that is a fancy booster from wildwood, but i already replaces the master cylinder..
    hopefully I don't have to go through 7 booster before I find one that works.
    On my next days off I'm going to either make a smoke machine an see if i have any other leaks or if its just a bad batch of boosters that are at the parts store
     
    TuckerK5 likes this.
  9. sweetk30

    sweetk30 5/8 ton status . . . just for BENT77 Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    34,461
    Likes Received:
    10,442
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    fire up the truck / stick head under dash and take hand and push pedal / if hisssss check the vac switch with a 1/4" or 5/16" black rubber vac hose to it .

    in your clean up under the hood with all new hoses you might have re-hooked up a old hose that was pulled or replaced a hose they shoved something in to block it and you didnt know it .
     
    Wes Harden and MEMO43 like this.
  10. MEMO43

    MEMO43 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Gardenrville NV
    Will do thanks
    I'll even see about snapping a few pics of what I do or did'tt do
    Hopefully it helps someone else, if anything to remind me of why I don't like new trucks.
     
  11. CyberSniper

    CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    There is a vacuum switch for the cruise control on the brake pedal. Unclip it and pull it off the bracket then operate the brakes, essentially you are eliminating that it's the switch for the cruise.

    I've had poor luck with brake boosters also.
     
  12. MEMO43

    MEMO43 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Gardenrville NV
    Ok will do
    I can hear a click sound when I press the pedal
    I wonder if this switch will also cause any vacuum leaks.
    Tomorrow I plan on replaceing every vacumm line to see if that helps..
    As well as try and make my own version of a smoke machine to find any other leaks
     
  13. Wes Harden

    Wes Harden 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    Location:
    Southern Califorina
    Good catch @sweetk30. I removed my cruise so long ago I forgot about the brake vacuum switch.
    If the 700r4 is factory there should be a brake vacuum switch that unlocks the torque converter. Don't disconnect that.
     
  14. sweetk30

    sweetk30 5/8 ton status . . . just for BENT77 Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    34,461
    Likes Received:
    10,442
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    i swapped 2 reman and a used booster before i found mine . . . that was almost 20 years ago now .

    glad to have helped out :waytogo:
     
  15. MEMO43

    MEMO43 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Gardenrville NV
    Were would the factory brake vacuum switch be?
    Same place as the brake light switch.
    The 700r4 is factory
    The only thing I've done since owning is do a motor swap, as well as remove all the emissions stuff, but thay was done last year an havent had an issue since then, up until recently
     
  16. sweetk30

    sweetk30 5/8 ton status . . . just for BENT77 Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    34,461
    Likes Received:
    10,442
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    cant help there . i dont play with 700r4 stuff .
     
  17. Wes Harden

    Wes Harden 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Posts:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    Location:
    Southern Califorina
    Yes the two brake switches will be right next to each other inline with the brake pedal arm/bracket under dash
     

Share This Page