CK5 Network
Become a member of the largest online community for Chevy K5 Blazer, Suburban and C/K series truck owners!

Delete Cat question

GaBnn3

1/2 ton status
Premium Member
Reaction score
Greetings all! I am not a trained mechanic and only feel comfortable fixing what is explained in the manual and/or on Youtube. But, my best source of info is this forum. Typically my repairs are to stock specs because that's what's in the manual. But my exhaust rotted away. The cat is the only part still good and in place. Emissions compliance is not required of me here in Ma. I'm considering cutting off the cat and running a straight pipe from the y-pipe to the muffler. I did a quick web search on the wisdom of such and it seems there may be a benefit in so doing. I'd like to know if the experts here can advise if it is a good idea. I hope to avoid a situation where I will have regrets. The engine is the 5.7L. Thanks.

dyeager535

1 ton status
Premium Member
Reaction score
Is it the old OEM "pancake" converter?

Those were, in fact, bad for performance.

I'll second the "put a high flow cat on" thought however, especially if this is a K5 and you run with the rear window down. Even with a well running setup, you will get noxious fumes at times entering the cab that way, a converter does a really good job of mitigating that.

K85 Octane

Tacklin' Fuel
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Reaction score
Agree
Any place not CA will have cats cheap enough to replace. They help and don’t negatively affect the car enough to go without.

HankScorpio

Customize everything
Premium Member
Reaction score
I was running without cat, no performance increase from a seat of the pants feeling. Doing a new exhaust because of an engine swap, I will be putting a cat on this time. The exhaust was pretty nasty when it would blow in through the back window, hopefully the cat will help with this. On a pickup you would probably never notice.

sweetk30

I build stuff
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Reaction score