Dismiss Notice


Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE Membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.



does it swap? fuel tank suburban to blazer

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by drftsub, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. drftsub

    drftsub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nor cal
    Hey all, wondering if anyone knows if the fuel tank will swap between suburban / blazer.

    thanks!
     
  2. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    The suburban tank will not fit in a blazer.
    It will fit in a long bed truck in place of the spare tire.
    :D
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    27,438
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I thought the small suburban tank (31 gallons) was the same as a Blazer 31 gallon tank, and the 40 gallon Sub unit wouldn't fit?

    Somewhere here (search) I believe someone measured the various tanks.
     
  4. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    I didn't know they offered the 31 gal tank in the sub.
    I have the 40 gal, and it won't fit.
    The 45 gallon from my van won't fit in either the sub or the blazer, it's wider than the frame in those trucks. :o
     
  5. fixmy59bug

    fixmy59bug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, Ca
    Unfortunately they did. That is what I am stuck with in my 89 GMC suburban. Is it possible to upgrade to the 40 gallon tank in my 'Burban?
     
  6. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    I would think it would be just swapping tanks & straps on the Burb.

    I read the difference between the 25 and 31 in the Blazer is only 2":eek1:

    28 x 28 x 10.5 and 28 x 28 x 12.5.
     
  7. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    Yeah, you can even get the 44gal from a diesel sub, that is the biggest you can fit in the sub.
     
  8. fixmy59bug

    fixmy59bug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Riverside, Ca
    OOOooooohhhhhh. 44 gallons... Now that sounds like a good time. Would I need to upgrade my sender when I upgrade to either tank from my 35 gallon tank? Or will my stock sender unit accurately show my fuel level?
     
  9. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    I only know they are different between gas & diesel. Don't know if your 35 will register correctly in a 44.

    Could be fun though!

    "Hey! Buggy, the needle's on EMPTY!"

    "Screw it! I'm driving the 100 miles to town!"

    Or:

    To friends

    "Geeze guys, I'd drive but the tank is on "E" !"

    :haha::haha:
     
  10. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    27,438
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I can't answer if it will work or not, but depth is the only critical thing when talking similar sending units. All operate/measure the same way, if the depth of the tank is the same, the senders will interchange. (with the normal exceptions like TBI, emissions, etc)
     
  11. bear76

    bear76 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    here
    What are the measurements of the suburban tanks?
     
  12. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,243
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    When I get some time I will measure it for you.
    It won't be today but maybe omorrow. :D
     
  13. K30Blazer

    K30Blazer 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Posts:
    907
    Likes Received:
    345
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    sorry to bump an old thread, but looking to see if a 31 gallon tank (2" taller) will fit in a K5 without mods
     
  14. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,605
    Likes Received:
    638
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Build(s):
    1
    My 91 Blazer came with a 31 gal tank.
     
  15. blazinzuk

    blazinzuk Buzzbox voodoo Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Posts:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    4,561
    Location:
    Afton / Star Valley Wyoming
    Build(s):
    2
    31 and 25 gallon tank are the same between the burb and blazer.
     
  16. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    8,707
    Likes Received:
    6,016
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    Just taller, need different straps and sending unit.

    IIRC the skid is the same
     
    K30Blazer and blazinzuk like this.
  17. K30Blazer

    K30Blazer 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Posts:
    907
    Likes Received:
    345
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    Cool. I have to plum an evap sensor into the tank for smog and figured buying a new tank was easier than pulling draining, cleaning and prepping the smaller tank.
     

Share This Page