CK5 Network
Repairing, restoring or modifying your ride just got a whole lot easier!

Dual battery setup

fordeater

1/2 ton status
Joined
Mar 21, 2004
Posts
1,402
Reaction score
0
Location
Boerne Tx
I want to install a second battery in my rig cause i run KC lights and a stereo system etc.... what is the best way to run the batteries? I don't even know how i should wire them up. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I already got the drivers side battery tray, and i'm gonna run dual optimas. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
 

84_Chevy_K10

Banned
Joined
May 30, 2001
Posts
17,669
Reaction score
0
Location
IL, USA
cheesyschematic.jpg
 

4xcrazy

3/4 ton status
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Posts
9,485
Reaction score
13
Location
Elma, Washington
I plan on doing the same thing, i will be using a battery isolator and running all aftermarket stuff (lights,stereo, whatever else) to that second battery and keep the primary factory battery used soley for the starting purposes.
I have been told that the dealer sells a passenger side battery tray for like $25 or so for the dual setup, going to check in to it myself.
 

big83chevy4x4

3/4 ton status
Joined
Mar 22, 2002
Posts
6,587
Reaction score
0
Location
Sheridan, Michigan
i plan on using a marine switch for the batteries. the place near me want $25 for the switch. the hook up is very simple, run both positive cables to the switch and 1 cable to the starter /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
 

84_Chevy_K10

Banned
Joined
May 30, 2001
Posts
17,669
Reaction score
0
Location
IL, USA
I have a $5 quick disconnect. I simply disconnect my 2nd battery when I'm going to let my truck sit more than overnight. No issues with leaving it overnight and hitting the key in the morning.

Other setups rely on switches, solenoids, or relays. I am not lazy, I just open my hood and hook it up.
 

4xcrazy

3/4 ton status
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Posts
9,485
Reaction score
13
Location
Elma, Washington
[ QUOTE ]


I am not lazy, I just open my hood and hook it up.

[/ QUOTE ]

You hit it on the head there bubba, /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif Ya see, I AM lazy, /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif i like the convenience of the automatic operation of the isolator charging the battery that needs it, and using each battery for its intended purpose, without having to pop the hood. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
 

84gmcjimmy

1 ton status
Joined
Dec 3, 2003
Posts
12,837
Reaction score
0
Location
B.C. CANADA
[ QUOTE ]
Tj , when you renew use the name 4xlazy /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

/forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
 

Tweetysuarus

1/2 ton status
Joined
May 25, 2002
Posts
2,294
Reaction score
0
Location
Lynnhood,WA
I am using a daul battery switch control in the cab on the dash like this. It is the big red and black thing on the dash:
5303dash2.JPG
Makes it quite conveinent to switch up as necessary.
Bill
 

CyberSniper

1/2 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2003
Posts
2,576
Reaction score
282
Location
Chelsea, MI
The search feature is your friend...

isolator.jpg


I have a pushbutton that activates the Furd starter solenoid shown in my diagram above. It is located in the ashtray.

ashtrayopen.JPG
 
Top Bottom