Front brake change cant get hub off? probably cause im stupid...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dynoram, Aug 18, 2004.

  1. dynoram

    dynoram Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok bought new pads and rotors for the 1988 k5. Haynes manual didnt show any special tools so i dove right in. Now i have the caliper and pads off no problem now for the rotor. i pull the 6 hex head bolts out of the manual hub pull the assembally out remove the c-clip and wire out of the hub. Now im left with what almost looks like a splined nut pushed onto the axle. How do i get that damn thing off nothing is budging! Is it threaded or just slip on? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif how do i get the damn thing apart. I have 2 half sticks of dynamite left over from the 4th of july i recon i might have to use them soon. Please help
     
  2. tbill

    tbill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gonzales, Texas
    A trip to the auto supply house and purchasing a hub socket is in order. About $15 and the nut will come right off. I guess everyone has learned this way the first time. Good luck.
     
  3. semper-k-five

    semper-k-five 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    that's how i learned!!!!!!!! /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  4. jrsheets

    jrsheets Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Katy, Texas
    yeah i got one for free, haven't even had to use it yet, its sad.... /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  5. dynoram

    dynoram Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went looking for this mystery tool before i posted this autozone and pepboys didnt have it ! /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif well the days over and i have no brakes. anyone have a part number or link where i can get it???
    would be appreciated! /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Autozone does have it , talk to the right guy . Mine actually says its for d44 axles . It should have 4 prongs , be right on display on the bottom near the front of the tool aisle /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     

Share This Page