gears or no

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by dmoney, Jan 25, 2007.

  1. dmoney

    dmoney 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silverhill, Al.
    if I go to 38s do I need to get gears to keep from messing up my overdrive? I am running 33s now and at 55 i am only doing like 1300 rpms
     
  2. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,317
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    If you still have stock gearing, doesn't matter what it is it will not be good with 38's, especially with a 700R4
    :eek1:
     
  3. dmoney

    dmoney 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silverhill, Al.
    what about 36s?
     
  4. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,317
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    Do you know what your gearing is?
    I had 35's with 3.73, they work OK but I didn't have a 700R4, I had a th400 which can take more abuse.
    If you have 4.10 which is rare stock, you can be fine with the 36's, if you have 3.73 more common, or 3.42 if it's 82 or newer, then you would want to keep it out of OD untill you get to flat land and speed above 60MPH.
    If you have the 3.08, I wouldn't even bother.
    You probably can figure out what gears you have since you know the RPM at 55MPH with a 33" but I don't have the formula handy and don't have time to look for it.:D
     
  5. dmoney

    dmoney 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silverhill, Al.
    thanks for the info bro... would it be worth putn in new gears in a 10 bolt or should I start looking for up grade...
     
  6. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,317
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Build(s):
    1
    Well if you have a DD and you want to put 36" tires you probably will be fine with the 10 bolt, just make sure the gearing is adequate.
    if you want to put 38" tires, it's a ticking bomb :rolleyes:
     
  7. dmoney

    dmoney 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Posts:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silverhill, Al.
    thanks iceman!!!
     

Share This Page