How to remove tire warning on 17 2500 van

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 76zimmer, May 15, 2019.

  1. 76zimmer

    76zimmer Flyin Rat Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Posts:
    24,926
    Likes Received:
    5,018
    Location:
    Kzoo, Mi
    Build(s):
    2
    My dad has this van and it has low tire warning for the two rear tires.
    All 4 tires and spare are set at 50.
    It calls for 80 on the rears, so it’s constantly showing “low pressure add air” For the rears only.
    I can’t find any info in the owners manual about acknowledging the warning.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. shady

    shady 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Posts:
    9,243
    Likes Received:
    4,236
    Location:
    iowa
    Build(s):
    5
    Is it a one ton van?
     
  3. shady

    shady 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Posts:
    9,243
    Likes Received:
    4,236
    Location:
    iowa
    Build(s):
    5
    Duh.... I re read the title :doah:
     
  4. shady

    shady 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Posts:
    9,243
    Likes Received:
    4,236
    Location:
    iowa
    Build(s):
    5
    If they are lower than it calls for that light will stay on and you can't do much about it really. It'll just come back.
     
  5. shady

    shady 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Posts:
    9,243
    Likes Received:
    4,236
    Location:
    iowa
    Build(s):
    5
    If you set them all to what the door plate says it'll still take a few days or more for it to shut off. Probably ride like a wood wagon though
     
    ramack likes this.
  6. 6872xtc

    6872xtc make mine modified Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    5,039
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Location:
    Palisade,Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    The truck that I have at work specifies 80 for the rear tires, and I believe that I have them at 70 since it doesn't have that much weight on it. I believe that the warning comes on around 66 psi on it. It's an '07. It seems to be doing fine as far as tire wear, but it could ride better a little better.
    So if you don't want to try more pressure, then the only trick that I know of is removing the sensors, make a tube out of PVC pipe and parts, put a Schrader valve in one end. Then put the sensors in this, put enough pressure in it to shut the light off, and store it under the seat. Air it up once in a while if the light comes on...

    Probably not the "help" that you are looking for.
    :D
     
    Alan2smiley, 76zimmer and shady like this.
  7. swettysblazer

    swettysblazer Swetty The Yeti Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Posts:
    5,098
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    North Jersey
    Build(s):
    3
    You would have to program it out with a tuner Dave. Or get it calibrated at the dealer if you know someone, but I doubt they will do it.
     
    AJMBLAZER, 76zimmer and Fastereddie like this.
  8. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,662
    Likes Received:
    2,673
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    5
    When those systems first came out we would just throw all 4 sensors in the spare . But now I think they are a little smarter then that
     
    76zimmer and Fastereddie like this.
  9. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    16,995
    Likes Received:
    7,050
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    I've read about people putting the sensors in a pipe of sorts that can be pressurized to the correct setting to keep the alert turned off.
     
    Alan2smiley and 76zimmer like this.
  10. 76zimmer

    76zimmer Flyin Rat Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Posts:
    24,926
    Likes Received:
    5,018
    Location:
    Kzoo, Mi
    Build(s):
    2
    So really no way to run a decent daily pressure (45-50) without the warning being there.
    Good thinking GM...WTF?
     
    NorCal69 likes this.
  11. Smokinthehippies

    Smokinthehippies 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Posts:
    7,855
    Likes Received:
    2,195
    Location:
    Millard, NE
    Build(s):
    2
    Nope. My dodge is like that too. Luckily it has a “light load” button that allows you to run the tests at 45. Makes a big difference when it wants 70 on standard mode
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2019
    76zimmer likes this.
  12. Scribbles

    Scribbles Paul Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Posts:
    725
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Location:
    Waco Tx
    Build(s):
    1
    My understanding is per the government, TPMS, back up cameras and sensors are all mandatory equipment in new vehicles
     
    76zimmer likes this.
  13. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,662
    Likes Received:
    2,673
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    5
    Definitely not the cameras and sensors , you can still get brand new rigs with out those . But I think even the 3500’s now come with TPMS
     
    76zimmer and Smokinthehippies like this.
  14. 6872xtc

    6872xtc make mine modified Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    5,039
    Likes Received:
    4,317
    Location:
    Palisade,Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    Can we blame Ferd with the exploder that ran the Firestone tires low on pressure?
    So now there has to be another safeguard to prevent more lawsuits..
     
    USSkoval, Big Ray, mtnman and 2 others like this.
  15. dhcomp

    dhcomp 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    10,231
    Likes Received:
    957
    Location:
    Truckee, CA
    Cameras have been required for a couple years now. Not sure which class of vehicle exactly, but they are required. Parts are so cheap now, if it saves a couple people from running over their kids, its not a bad move.
     
    76zimmer likes this.
  16. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,677
    Likes Received:
    786
    Location:
    Roy WA

    Not to be contrary, ok, to be contrary, "On March 31, 2014, four years past its deadline, the U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration announced that it would require all automobiles sold in the United States built beginning in May 2018 to include backup cameras." https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=3&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwi3iaGenZ_iAhWoxlQKHQQXB0oQFjACegQIDhAK&url=https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backup_camera&usg=AOvVaw04Agkj-tmivulKhy77ap5r
     
    Scribbles and 76zimmer like this.
  17. ZooMad75

    ZooMad75 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2003
    Posts:
    3,342
    Likes Received:
    5,147
    Location:
    Pueblo, CO
    Build(s):
    1
    Yep, we can thank Ford and Firestone for this heeping pile of scat to deal with on every vehicle. Only 3500 duallys from GM don't have tire pressure monitoring.

    On the 17's though, even at the dealership I can't alter the settings for a more compliant ride. The programming is based on the VIN/option content. If it's a 3/4 or 1 ton, it's 55 up front and 80 in the rear. They have to base the pressure on the assumption that the unit is going to be run at max capacity. Running too low when loaded to the max will cause a blowout and in GM's eye's (and every other OEM too) makes them ripe for a lawsuit they can't win. So due to a few rotten apples the bunch gets spoiled and we all get the joys of tire pressure monitoring.

    The module responsible for the tires differs from one model line to the next. Most use the remote control door lock receiver, where some use the Body Control Module. What I don't know is if the EFI Live or HP tuner's has the ability to get into secondary modules like the RCDLR or BCM.

    Up to 2012 we could make a change to the pressure ranges for the tire monitoring. We could also change the tire sizes as long as the tire size we were changing to was something sold on any GM vehicle. We did change more than a few to the 315/70r17 size (factory H2 Hummer size) for guys running that size tire on Silverados/Sierras. But when the 2013 Model year came out, which was the first year the GDS diagnostic system phased in to replace the Tech2 the ability to change TPMS pressure values and tire sizes stopped completely. After that the only way I could change the tire size is if the customer bought an accessory upsized wheel/tire package, like going from factory 20's to 22's. The wheel/tire package came with a code we call into GM with the VIN, they alter the spec and we reprogram the module with the new calibration file. They will not alter tire psi specs though. I've tried.
     
    76zimmer likes this.
  18. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,662
    Likes Received:
    2,673
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    5

    So it may be required on cars and suvs it’s definitely not required on 1-tons.

    I’m in the market for a new truck , I’m going back and forth between a Ram and Ford SRW 1-ton. Back-up cameras and parking proximity sensors are NOT standard they are optional.
     
    76zimmer likes this.
  19. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,677
    Likes Received:
    786
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Yeah, I wondered about "automobiles" vs something like "all cars and trucks". When a truck cost 80k+, guess the manufacturers need a way to squeeze a bit more out on options lol
     
    79rustyk10 and yellowK20 like this.
  20. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    23,882
    Likes Received:
    5,383
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    Black tape works !..:D
     
    yellowK20 likes this.

Share This Page