NP 203 help needed

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by yellowK20, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,002
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    3
    Workin on my 79 trailrig/firewood hauler supreme. The guy I bought it from said the t-case is locked up :doah: upon further inspection today it's was not it's just stuck in neutral . shifter would not move at all so i pulled the shifter off and both shift rods move through there detents fine. my question is what rod controls what????? it has a full time conversion in it
     
  2. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,002
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    3
    okay the 203 is lunched so I yanked it out and was in the process of putting in a 205 got every thing cleaned up and went to stab the 'case...... no worky the output on the 400 is 2 short!!!!!! WTF the 205 is out of an 80 model k20 with a TH400 this a 79 K20 with a TH400 with a 203 so what the hell is going on ???? need some help
     
  3. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    IIRC you also need to change the output shaft on the TH400 too
     
  4. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,002
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    3
    Ah man that sucks .any sources for one ? trying to get it ready to take to moab :confused:
     
  5. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,002
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    3
    it may be a long shot but I need to find that output and install it before I leave for moab Searches have come up Nada. either that or do a quick 4-speed swap:mad:
     
  6. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,002
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    3
  7. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,002
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    3
    TTT really need some help:bow: 4-speed not an option ( no clutch componets )
     
  8. mofugly13

    mofugly13 1 ton bucket of rust Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Posts:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Man, sucks nobody's replied to help you out. I don't know in ORD has them, or Advance Adapters. Try a search, or call some tranny shops and tell them what you are trying to do. Sorry I couldn't be more help.
     
  9. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,002
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    3
    Thanks, I didn't think of advance adapters I called 3 different tranny shops today and they seem to know less than me about these trannys(which is bad)
     
  10. yellowK20

    yellowK20 Well Lubricated Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    8,002
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    Wasilla AK,
    Build(s):
    3

Share This Page