CK5 Network
Become a member of the largest online community for Chevy K5 Blazer, Suburban and C/K series truck owners!

Shop set up. Organization. Etc.

muddermilitia

ThatTrazerGuy
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Reaction score
I recently moved from Head Custodian to a new job position in my school district, General Maintenance. I'm primarily a mechanic now.

Ive been working alongside the other mechanic in my school district. He's smart and is pretty good at what he does, but he is very unorganized. Stuff is scattered all over the shop. Lots of time is wasted trying to find things.

He has been open to me helping him out in the organization dept. Our shop is 2 bays with a work shop in back and a loft over 1 side. There is an 80 gallon compressor, sand blast cabinet, and some shelving units up on the loft. The work shop area has shelves, a metal work bench with vice, and is primarily the area for small repairs on things like vacuums.

This shop is only 3 years old. A lot of whats in it, is things that were brought over from the old Administration Building.

I'm looking for ideas on shop organization or shop setup. So far, I bought 1 air tool rack from @Deuling . I'm going to ask my supervisor if we can order another one.
I was already looking at the TMR Customs website. What other places should I look that sell things for shops?

My supervisor is on board with improving the shop. Getting different cabinets or shelving or whatever that may be. He knows that Tim the mechanic is unorganized and he knows that with my help, we can make the shop run more smoothly and efficiently.

Here's some pictures of what I'm working with:

1123200959.jpg
1123200958.jpg
1208201508.jpg
0122210800.jpg

The far left side of the shop (side opposite the front end loader) has some metal working tools. I was going to add another air tool rack over there that had just grinders and sanders, etc.