Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Stranded in the mountains - 2003 Silverado, 8.1/Allison

Discussion in '1992-Present Chevy & GMC models' started by Jumppr, May 31, 2016.

1. Jumppr

Jumppr 1/2 ton status Premium Member

So I went up to the mountains to camp this past weekend and everything was great. I've been driving my '03 Silverado since 2010 when I bought it from Carmax. I woke up Monday morning and moved the truck closer to my tent to load everything up and go home. Just so happens that at this particular spot the best place to pitch my tent was on a nice little island in the middle of a little creek. No big deal.....I forded the creek, broke camp and finished my coffee. Then I get in to leave and the stupid DIC says "UKNOWN DRIVER". The truck turns over, fires and dies. I disco'd the battery for 30 mins and still no joy. We load the guns and other valuables, into my buddies truck and head down the mountain. I figure at the worst I'll have to find a trailer long enough for my quad-cab/long bed and drag it down to the dealership the next day.

When I got home I did some thorough Googling and posted to a few different groups on Facebook and got tools ready to head back up the mountain in the morning. My friends also showed me how to delete the VATS and gave me their shop laptop to take back. Luckily it's only about an hour and a half away so it's a relatively nice drive in the country. The wife and I dropped the kid off at school today and headed back up.

Once I got there and was happy that no one messed with my shit overnight I disco'd the battery, touched then two battery cables together and jumpstarted it on the first turn of the key. When I got home I turned off the VATs just so it wouldn't happen again. Thank God for Google and YouTube.

truckstuck.jpg

2. brans87