CK5 Network
Repairing, restoring or modifying your ride just got a whole lot easier!

Truck drives slow!!!!!!

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
I just put a rebuilt 350 in my 89. It has a comp cam in it and I also put a 670 cfm Holley TBI on it. It runs good, no codes or anything like that, BUT, it is so sloooow. It was slow like this before the motor change and I thought it would improve. It has no pickup or power. I was wondering if anyone knows what could be my problem???

Thanks, Ken
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
[ QUOTE ]
put some 4:56 gears in and you will see a big increase /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

[/ QUOTE ]


I have 4:56s in it, got that done after I lifted it!!! /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
Could it be some kinda sensor or something thats holding it back?? Lets put it this way , I can floor it and it picks up at the same rate as if I were just "touching the pedal"!!!
 

88Silverado

1/2 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Posts
2,775
Reaction score
135
Location
Quartz Hill, So. Cal
When was the last time you change the fuel filter??
Couldnt believe the difference in mine after the change. Could be a clogged fuel pump screen too. Sometimes it will set a Lean code.
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
No, I havent tried the fuel filter. I assumed that a bad filter would give me hesitation or stalling probs, I just have no pickup!! But, I did get a filter a while back, I guess Ill throw it on tommorrow!! It wont hurt!!

Thanks, Ken /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
 

unick

1/2 ton status
Joined
Aug 16, 2003
Posts
4,286
Reaction score
0
Location
San Diego Comufornia
Check how much oil is in it. Sounds dumb but I was with one of my buddies and it wouldnt go very fast. I told him to pull over and I checked the oil. He must have only lad like 1 or 2 quarts in it. We put some oil inn and it started working better.

Nick
 

tRustyK5

Big meanie
Staff member
Super Moderator
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Author
Joined
Jul 23, 2000
Posts
40,558
Reaction score
10,269
Location
E-town baby!
Could maybe be a plugged catalytic convertor too...that'll kill power!

Rene
 

SUBFAN

1/2 ton status
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Posts
2,334
Reaction score
0
Location
Davenport, Ia
Hmmm, double post....

You must really want this problem fixed /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
[ QUOTE ]
Hmmm, double post....

You must really want this problem fixed /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

[/ QUOTE ]


I do Its driving me nuts!!!!
 

88Silverado

1/2 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Posts
2,775
Reaction score
135
Location
Quartz Hill, So. Cal
[ QUOTE ]
No, I havent tried the fuel filter. I assumed that a bad filter would give me hesitation or stalling probs

[/ QUOTE ]

When my filter was plugged, it just got a little harder to start but no hesitation or stumble, just no power. Got so bad that if I floored it, the RPM's wouldnt get high enough for the governer to allow the trans to shift gears. That was about the point the computer started to flag a Lean condition, but only at WOT. Was a HUGH dofference when I changed it. TBI's need pressure to work properly. Again, could be a plugged filter on the fuel pump in the tank too. There are adaptor kits so you can put an in-line pressure guage and take readings. Just a thought /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
 

R72K5

Banned
Joined
Mar 5, 2001
Posts
8,905
Reaction score
0
Location
central IL
cat converter being plugged is a good palce to start, have seen it happen several times and cause weak engine power
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
[ QUOTE ]
I just put in a new fresh engine with a towing cam and found that the timing had to be advanced quite a bit. Runs great and the best part is more power AND better MPG! /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif

[/ QUOTE ]


I did try the fuel filter today and it wasnt it!!
Where did you set your timing?? I just want to see if I got mine right!!

Thanks,Ken
 

husurddy

1/2 ton status
Joined
Jul 28, 2001
Posts
108
Reaction score
0
Location
Snow Hill, Maryland, go east \'till you hit water
To be honest, I can't remember. I was advancing it a lil' bit at at time, trying to stay away from spark nock and.....my inductor wire for the timing light burned up on my header. /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif Don't hold me to this but 12 degrees rings a bell. I have been really happy with the results and my exhaust doesn't smell rich anymore. I'll have to pick up another light this weekend and check.
 

bryguy00b

3/4 ton status
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Posts
5,587
Reaction score
0
Location
Rochester, N.Y
u sure its running right on all cylinders and has the right amount of compression? just an idea i dunno .. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
 

84blazerwhoopee

Registered Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Posts
36
Reaction score
0
Location
Minneapolis, MN
[ QUOTE ]
u sure its running right on all cylinders and has the right amount of compression? just an idea i dunno .. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

Along these thoughts, I saw a mechanic mark with some type of chalk real close to each exhaust port on the manifold and then ran the engine for a few minutes. he then went back to look at the marks to see which was not discolored. I never found out what special type of chalk he used, if any, but it sure seemed like a smart idea at the time.
/forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
Randy
 

tRustyK5

Big meanie
Staff member
Super Moderator
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Author
Joined
Jul 23, 2000
Posts
40,558
Reaction score
10,269
Location
E-town baby!
That would be a temp stick...at a certain temperature it goes from chalky to melted looking. I guess you could tell if any cylinders were running lean that way. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

We use many different temp sticks to guage the amount of pre-heat before welding.

Rene
 
Top Bottom