vacumme advance ported to carb but tees off to the EVAP can???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by cheyennesuper, Nov 12, 2004.

  1. cheyennesuper

    cheyennesuper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    The hose from my vaccume advance to the carb is split off to the EVAP canister too.Is this right?
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Does your state really look close for emissions ? In my state I redid my hose routing and took off the ported switches and still pass visual .

    What I did is run PCV , EGR , pump diverter valve , and spark straight off the carb . Then I made the 1978 Evap can I got from a yard tie into the PCV valve at the cover ( 2 port PCV valve ) . And power brakes off rear of carb . Works simpler and I passed in AZ /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  3. cheyennesuper

    cheyennesuper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I'm not worried about emmisions...my vaccume advance is not working properly...i think /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  4. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    What carb ? If its a Q-jet , run it direct to ported on the carb . The smog era carbed engines need vacuum advance under light loads and cruise for economy /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  5. cheyennesuper

    cheyennesuper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I have a holley 4-barrel but i'm not sure exactly which holley
     
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Its been a long time since I worked on a Holley of my own . I don't remember which port is ported , try running engine and find a port that has no vacuum at idle , and run the advance straight to that . I do use a timing light right before emissions , but all other times I time it by ear until I can drive all the time without pinging /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     

Share This Page