wiring offroad lights

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RootBreaker, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,816
    Likes Received:
    509
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    Build(s):
    1
    Ok so some of my lights are wired up but I want to change some things...

    I have power to my relays and relays to switch and lights...

    [​IMG]
    I am using a standard automotive GM relay.. pn 25553347
    relay is rated for max of 30A
    kc light is rated at 12A each

    I am looking at metri-pack 280 connectors.... not cheap but i found a cheap place. However the metri-pack 280 is rated for 30A and the metri-pack 150 is rated for 14A ... since my lights are 12A each.. it wont hurt getting the metri 150's right?













    p.s im gonna share the link soon... still doing my research.. and get my order in first... :wink1:
     
  2. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    5,126
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    Build(s):
    1
    150's will work just fine.
    These are conservative ratings Delphi uses, unlike the aftermarket. They supply to OEM's, who size things appropriatly. 14a rating means 14amps continous without problem. So go for it!
     
  3. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    5,126
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    Build(s):
    1
    Hey, nice H-Car relay/Fuse center BTW.
    Same setup I'm using!
    I bought all the pull-to-seat 480 terminals for the relays so I don't have to splice the wires.
    I also bought the 800 series terminals for the maxi-fuse block.
     
  4. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,816
    Likes Received:
    509
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    Build(s):
    1
    yeah 1989 olds 88... I got that for a steal so wasnt worried about everything else..

    $10 score!!!!! with relays and fuses.. :wink1:

    it also used factory mounting bolts on my truck.. that is why it is tilted....

    I am going to clean this up....
    [​IMG]
     
  5. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    12,101
    Likes Received:
    2,249
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    Build(s):
    3
    Nice I need to go to the local yard and pull one. I know there is like a gazillion of them in the yard.
     

Share This Page