CK5 Network
Repairing, restoring or modifying your ride just got a whole lot easier!

Disc Brake Conversion Problem

Smitty

1/2 ton status
Joined
Sep 1, 2000
Posts
998
Reaction score
1
Location
Crestview, FL
Need a little help with a problem I've run into during my conversion. I'm in the process of putting disc brakes on my 14bff. The new rotors are for a 73 3/4 ton (As recommended by Shakerbuilt). I'm told I should be able to use the original lug studs but that's where I run into the problem. The rotors are machined to accept the head of a lug stud but the head of the lug stud is 0.10" larger than the hole (a bit too much for a pressed fit).

I went back to the parts house to see if the rotors had been packed in the wrong box but everything checked out (rotor #5523). We looked up the lug studs and they are the same as what I currently have.

Let me also say that the kit I received from Shakerbuilt is great! These are parts that didn't come with the kit.

Is there a different stud or rotor that I should be using? If so, does anyone have the numbers?
 

Muddytazz

1 ton status
Joined
Jun 30, 2002
Posts
20,072
Reaction score
1
Location
Salem, Or.
Your not limited to only a 73 3/4ton rotor for the 14FF, you can use any D44 or 10bolt rotor for the conversion. I used a 74 D44 rotor on mine and it was a perfect fit /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
 

Beast388

1/2 ton status
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Posts
3,039
Reaction score
3
Location
Clinton, IA USA
Hmmm.....I was going to suggest that you get the same rotors that I bought, which were for a '77 K20, but the part number you listed is the same. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif

I didn't have any issues when I pressed (pounded /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif) my original studs back in. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif

Here is a pic:
3669Disc_Brakes.jpg
 

Smitty

1/2 ton status
Joined
Sep 1, 2000
Posts
998
Reaction score
1
Location
Crestview, FL
I think I'll hit up another parts store on Monday and check a different brand of rotor. Maybe these rotors are just cut wrong...
 

Smitty

1/2 ton status
Joined
Sep 1, 2000
Posts
998
Reaction score
1
Location
Crestview, FL
Does the head of the stud actually sit inside of a hole cut into the rotor in this photo?
 

Muddytazz

1 ton status
Joined
Jun 30, 2002
Posts
20,072
Reaction score
1
Location
Salem, Or.
the head is not full beneath the surface of the hole, but it is on mine fully seated and there is a gap all the way around the outside of the lug head and the diameter of the hole for the head.
 

Beast388

1/2 ton status
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Posts
3,039
Reaction score
3
Location
Clinton, IA USA
[ QUOTE ]
the head is not full beneath the surface of the hole, but it is on mine fully seated and there is a gap all the way around the outside of the lug head and the diameter of the hole for the head.

[/ QUOTE ]

Same here. The rotor is counterbored probably about 0.060-0.080" and the diameter of the c-bore is probably 0.100 bigger than the head of the stud.


There was a thread about this problem a while back. I don't remember what was resolved. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
 

Smitty

1/2 ton status
Joined
Sep 1, 2000
Posts
998
Reaction score
1
Location
Crestview, FL
Did you re-use the studs from the 14bff? Wondering if I can just use studs designed for the front...
 

Smitty

1/2 ton status
Joined
Sep 1, 2000
Posts
998
Reaction score
1
Location
Crestview, FL
I'll run a search to see if I can find anything. Just wanted to say thanks to everyone for the tech info. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
 

Beast388

1/2 ton status
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Posts
3,039
Reaction score
3
Location
Clinton, IA USA
[ QUOTE ]
Did you re-use the studs from the 14bff? Wondering if I can just use studs designed for the front...

[/ QUOTE ]

Smitty......I used the original studs from the 14BFF to hold the rotors on. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif I didn't notice if the front studs were any different than the rear. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
 

Beast388

1/2 ton status
Joined
Nov 6, 2001
Posts
3,039
Reaction score
3
Location
Clinton, IA USA
[ QUOTE ]
I'll run a search to see if I can find anything.

[/ QUOTE ]

Just so you know, I bought my rotors from Autozone. Maybe their rotors will work for you? /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
 

Smitty

1/2 ton status
Joined
Sep 1, 2000
Posts
998
Reaction score
1
Location
Crestview, FL
Same here. I bought 4 of them so I could replace everything all the way around. I'm at a loss on this one... /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
 

Muddytazz

1 ton status
Joined
Jun 30, 2002
Posts
20,072
Reaction score
1
Location
Salem, Or.
Take the ones back that you have slated for the 14FF and have them compare those to the rest of their stock in the back(even other name brands, cause most auto parts stores carry more than 1 brand)to see if there is any that are different.
 

fortcollinsram

1/2 ton status
Joined
Nov 8, 2001
Posts
2,261
Reaction score
0
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Well, my 3/4T 14bff studs needed replaced. The ones I bought wouldn't fully seat in the counterbore. I just had the heads of the studs I had machined down to fit...A buddy of mine has a lathe so it was just a few beers and they were all done...

Chris
 

Smitty

1/2 ton status
Joined
Sep 1, 2000
Posts
998
Reaction score
1
Location
Crestview, FL
Just called and this is the only brand they have in stock. Hopefully one of the other parts stores will have a rotor in stock. We have such a selection in thriving Altus, OK.... /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
 

bablazer73

1/2 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2000
Posts
3,646
Reaction score
290
Location
Starr South Carolina
I used napa #4885677 rotors. My stock studs were a little short. I went and bought 16 studs for a dually rear axle. They were long enough to use the stock nuts.
 
Top Bottom