Heard you had something to fix my axle problem

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by desertrat67, Jun 13, 2006.

  1. desertrat67

    desertrat67 Hawk Driver

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Posts:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA
    Mr Watson, The two holes were the studs go on my D60 front have stripped out(the ones in the housing). I have heard you have a fix for this and was wondering what it was. IF you don't and I heard this eroneously then just tell me to bug off. Thanks,

    ryan
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2006
  2. K10ANDYKHAMNIC

    K10ANDYKHAMNIC 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Posts:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western CO
    Get you some heli coils or you could possibly drill and tap it larger ....
    Ie , No ORD does not make a fix for that .
     
  3. desertrat67

    desertrat67 Hawk Driver

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Posts:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA
    someone in another forum said stephen had somthing for this, the only reason i asked. thanks.
     
  4. noahrob

    noahrob 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    I just had to heli coil the front hole...did the rear one 6, 7 months ago....
     
  5. JeffHK5

    JeffHK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    If ORD can't set you up then PM me and I can. You will need to have a couple things go your way for a step-stud repair:

    1. The existing factory holes need to be positioned in the center section so that there's enough material to tap a 3/4-10 hole 1" deep. I have seen diffs where there was plenty of room for a step-stud and others the tap would break out the side.

    2. You need to have the ability to tap a 3/4-10 hole ...ie...drill,tap,drill press and a small amount of machining ability.

    3. You need to know how thick your front spring pack is and if your going to use a Zero rate to determine overall stud length.



    Sorry for the high-jack on the ORD sub-page but desertrat67 has been trying to cure this problem for awhile now and I have fixed some locally like this.

    Jeff
     
  6. desertrat67

    desertrat67 Hawk Driver

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Posts:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA
    thanks for the reply. I will be getting a hold of you as soon as I get my burb home and can measure the spring pack thickness. i will also have a look at the housing to see if it is thin in that area or not.
     

Share This Page