CK5 Network
Repairing, restoring or modifying your ride just got a whole lot easier!

NP 205/D60 owners

84_Chevy_K10

Banned
Joined
May 30, 2001
Posts
17,669
Reaction score
0
Location
IL, USA
Anyone know what size socket to remove the pinion nut on a D60 front?

Also, same question for the rear output of my 205.

I'm thinking it's in the 1 5/16-1 3/8 range
 

jekbrown

I am CK5
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Author
Joined
May 19, 2001
Posts
46,135
Reaction score
2,527
Location
TEXAS
if ya dont get a response to this from someone that knows off the top of their head, PM me, I'll get out a caliper and climb under the rig...

j
 

84_Chevy_K10

Banned
Joined
May 30, 2001
Posts
17,669
Reaction score
0
Location
IL, USA
jek, if you could do that just to double check, i've got to go on a 25 mile round trip to buy the socket since mine stop at 1 1/4", it'd be appreciated.

I'm thinking 1 5/16 is correct as well
 

BadDog

SOL
Staff member
Super Moderator
Author
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Posts
8,011
Reaction score
231
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Got calipers? Put a caliper on it, or make do with a pair of needle nose vice or something. Adjust till it touches, pull it off, and measure. Should easily be able to get within +/- 1/32 which would be close enough.
 

84_Chevy_K10

Banned
Joined
May 30, 2001
Posts
17,669
Reaction score
0
Location
IL, USA
Only calipers I own are at my work, sitting on the parts counter. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
 

supersize75k5

OrganDonorRacing.com
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Posts
8,836
Reaction score
36
Location
gilbert az
well thats what worked /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

just needed some grinding on the socket /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif

-shawn
 

BadDog

SOL
Staff member
Super Moderator
Author
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Posts
8,011
Reaction score
231
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Beat me to it, I just went ahead and pulled the shaft to check... /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
 

OL14BLAZ

1/2 ton status
Joined
Aug 14, 2002
Posts
1,814
Reaction score
1
Location
TEXAS, USA
Has to be thin wall 1 5/16" as well. I had a hell of time finding one at the time I needed it to get my pinion off my front 60. /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
 

84_Chevy_K10

Banned
Joined
May 30, 2001
Posts
17,669
Reaction score
0
Location
IL, USA
I got a generic 3/4" drive chrome 12 point 1 5/16" socket and it worked fine.

Damn the Sears here, NO INDIVIDUAL SOCKETS!!!!!! What kinda crap is that???
 

az-k5

1/2 ton status
Joined
Oct 15, 2003
Posts
2,774
Reaction score
0
Location
Phoenix AZ
I got a generic harbor freight 3/4" drive kit. The 1-5/16 wrked fine. I don't thik they are truly a thin wall design.
 

BadDog

SOL
Staff member
Super Moderator
Author
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Posts
8,011
Reaction score
231
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Same thing I used for mine.

BTW, Matt, do you still need that D60 1310 yoke? If so, I've still got it for you...
 

supersize75k5

OrganDonorRacing.com
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Posts
8,836
Reaction score
36
Location
gilbert az
makes you wonder if I was "using the standards of C.E.E."

/forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
 

BurbLover

1/2 ton status
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Posts
3,060
Reaction score
0
Location
SW Missouri
[ QUOTE ]
makes you wonder if I was "using the standards of C.E.E."

/forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif

[/ QUOTE ]

When that's not quite right, get a bigger hammer for the final adjustment!! /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
 
Top Bottom