Rear Power Window Switch Source Found

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by trukker1, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. trukker1

    trukker1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    OH
    I know when I was trying to find a dash mounted rear window switch it seemed as others were looking for the same thing and not having any luck locating them.

    I found them at Motor City K5.

    Not cheap at $25 plus $10.92 shipping but if you need'em they have them.

    Administrators...feel free to move this if not in proper place.
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,554
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I'm sure that is far cheaper than what NOS pieces run now.

    Isn't the mounting curved on the stock switch? Going to go search for that switch on ebay, it sure looks like a switch for something else that they are selling for this purpose.

    Similar, but not the same. And no idea on dimensions: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Polarity-R...scAAOSwLF1X4pK6:sc:USPSFirstClass!98580!US!-1
     
  3. trukker1

    trukker1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    OH
    Tell ya what...for that price it had BETTER be the correct switch or I'll be one mad mammer jammer! I'll let you all know when I get it.:dunno:
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,554
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I can guarantee you it's the "wrong" switch, it says you can't use the factory connector. I'd not destroy my factory connector to make it fit, I'd make an adapter if nothing else.

    Anyway, finally found a pic of a factory one: https://photobucket.com/gallery/htt.../1bucknastydog/media/008_zps1c45d18f.jpg.html

    Perhaps that one will fit in the factory "bezel" like the original did. Not going to look exactly the same, but if it fits the same, that's something.

    If you think $25 is expensive, go find an NOS one. If you paid $75 you'd be lucky...if you can even find one.[​IMG]
     
  5. K85 Octane

    K85 Octane Tacklin' Fuel Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    12,624
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Los Angeles/ Pasadena
    Build(s):
    1
  6. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,554
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Roy WA
  7. K85 Octane

    K85 Octane Tacklin' Fuel Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    12,624
    Likes Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Los Angeles/ Pasadena
    Build(s):
    1
    yep, Philmore
     
  8. trukker1

    trukker1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    OH
    Screwed again! I called just minutes after reading the first reply and no answer. Told them to cancel the order if it wasn't OEM exact replacement. Immediately received email saying shipped. I feel like it should have said screwed! Buyer beware. I always seem to buy the wrong thing. Always in a hurry...bad way to buy.
     
  9. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,554
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I think this is the new way of doing business. It's happened to me on eBay as well. Called seller to say please cancel (we're talking less than 5 minutes after purchase, 10PM at night) and within seconds received a notification that the item had shipped.

    It's funny, I spend about 98% of my time researching and procrastinating, 1% of my time working on whatever, and 1% of the time purchasing the item. Yet I still end up with stuff I ultimately change my mind on. lol
     
    K588 likes this.
  10. trukker1

    trukker1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    OH
    To be fair, the fellow at Motor City K5 was very helpful with me finding a side "vent" window and a missing extra bracket for the same on the opposite side.I just hope this piece works and looks right. If I have to fab a connector I will but I won't alter the factory harness. I may even try to repair my existing switch since having an alternative will give me more courage to try to take the old unit apart.

    EDITED: Removed "double" quote.
     
  11. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,554
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Roy WA
  12. wheels87k5

    wheels87k5 24 Karat Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Location:
    Goddard, Ks
    Build(s):
    1
    dyeager535 likes this.
  13. trukker1

    trukker1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    OH
    Big Ray, dyeager535 and wheels87k5 like this.
  14. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,554
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Roy WA
    FWIW, looking at the picture of the switch terminals I could find, I'd look very close at the factory switch, and see if you can just depin the connector instead of cutting. Those aren't some special terminals on the switch, you might find the connector is just spade terminals locked into it. If you wanted to be fancy you could use shrink tube over them when they were in place, to keep them from shorting if one popped loose, plus help keep them in place a bit.
     
  15. trukker1

    trukker1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    OH
    dyeager 535, Good advice! Thanks!
     
  16. Big Ray

    Big Ray 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Posts:
    12,298
    Likes Received:
    2,681
    Location:
    Eastern NC
  17. USSkoval

    USSkoval Dunno? Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Posts:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Madison County, Ohio
    Build(s):
    2
  18. trukker1

    trukker1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    OH
    My calls to GM dealers say they no longer stock parts for vehicles that old.
     
  19. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    28,554
    Likes Received:
    719
    Location:
    Roy WA
    IMO GM isn't real good about stocking parts for anything, except maybe the Corvette's. Even back when these trucks weren't 10 years old yet (the 1991's) you couldn't get some parts for them.

    Thus the premium. Well, that and the aftermarket generally makes crap, because we are cheap and people aren't willing to pay what quality costs.
     
  20. trukker1

    trukker1 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Posts:
    169
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    OH
    Couldn't agree more! Everyone would rather buy cheap China junk than shell out more for a quality American made part. Goodbye American jobs too!
     
    dyeager535 likes this.

Share This Page