CK5 Network
Repairing, restoring or modifying your ride just got a whole lot easier!

Truck has no power!!!

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
I posted this in another forum but I figured Id try this one too!! I replaced my 350 with a rebuilt one with a comp cam and I put a new 670 cfm Holley TBI on it too, assuming Id get some more power compared to the old tired stock motor!! The prob is its the same as before, My truck accelerates VERY Slowly!!! I could put the gas to the floor and it picks up like Im gently touching the pedal!! Does anyone know if it could be one of those computer TBI sensors that is holding it back?? It runs good with no codes, just doesnt have the power it should!! /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

Thanks, ken
 

85scottsdale

1/2 ton status
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Posts
283
Reaction score
0
Location
Lewisville, NC
My 350 has a bad cam in it right now and gasmileage sucks balls and the power sucks, i'm ordering a new one next week and installing it next weekend, was the cam broken in properly? Probably not the issue, but just an idea.
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
[ QUOTE ]
My 350 has a bad cam in it right now and gasmileage sucks balls and the power sucks, i'm ordering a new one next week and installing it next weekend, was the cam broken in properly? Probably not the issue, but just an idea.

[/ QUOTE ]


Im still breaking the motor in but I should have some kinda power. Its doing the exact same thing that it did before this motor. Its got to be something that I havent replaced yet!!

Thanks,Ken
 

85scottsdale

1/2 ton status
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Posts
283
Reaction score
0
Location
Lewisville, NC
If you had a bad cam you would hear it anyway. I would suspect it has to do with a sensor or something being bad? Or maybe clogged exhaust or something? Do you have cats?
 

SUBFAN

1/2 ton status
Joined
Mar 23, 2003
Posts
2,334
Reaction score
0
Location
Davenport, Ia
Is it a gear issue???? Maybe you are expecting it to do to much with the 36" tires. If you put in to big of a cam, and have the wrong gears, it will perform miserably....
 

1badv10

Registered Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Posts
74
Reaction score
0
Location
new york
like someone said above the fuel filter should be your starting point, how long has it been since replaced? my truck actually had more power at 1/4 throttle then it did at full.. drove me nuts /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif, had no idleing or stalling problems.. for 5 bucks at walmart you save can save your sanityhope this helps /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
 

southernspeed

1/2 ton status
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 24, 2003
Posts
4,399
Reaction score
57
Location
VA
Are you using the same h/balancer as your old motor? I spun the outer ring on mine once and when I rebuilt the motor I couldn't time it as the t/marks were in the wrong place! It ran but it was horrible and got hot quick.
 

rooferbret

1/2 ton status
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
Posts
264
Reaction score
0
Location
Sacramento,CA
My truck was a dog with fleas and ticks till I got a new cat /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
 

85scottsdale

1/2 ton status
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Posts
283
Reaction score
0
Location
Lewisville, NC
When I put on my new exhaust I looked into the cat and noticed it was melted and I could see like two very small holes through it. After I put on the headers even with a bad cam it felt like a new damn motor lol. But it was all the work of a holley carb that sunk the floats and dumps a lot of fuel in, i'm not running a Q-Jet and its wonderful! Except for the shitty power from the cam of course. 3.42s and 33's don't help either. But if its not throwing any codes then maybe it could be fuel filter or clogged exhaust?
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
[ QUOTE ]
my truck actually had more power at 1/4 throttle then it did at full.. drove me nuts /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif, had no idleing or stalling problems.. for 5 bucks at walmart you save can save your sanityhope this helps /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

[/ QUOTE ]


This sounds like mine but I changed the filter today and that wasnt it /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif


Ken
 

jakeslim

1/2 ton status
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Posts
2,686
Reaction score
0
Location
Napa, CA
have you tried adjusting your timing to find the best setting for your truck? Never hurts.
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
[ QUOTE ]
have you tried adjusting your timing to find the best setting for your truck? Never hurts.

[/ QUOTE ]


Thats something Im still messing with!! I think I got it now!! It seems really advanced but I heard it has to be with a performance cam.

Thanks, Ken
 

88Silverado

1/2 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Posts
2,778
Reaction score
138
Location
Quartz Hill, So. Cal
If you have an 89, you need to disconnect the brown & Black wire for the timing to read it. If you dont, the computer takes hold of the advance.

Still can be a plugged fuel pump filter. Do you have any way of reading the pressure??
 

Frogg89

Registered Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Posts
85
Reaction score
0
Location
Southern NJ
The brown and black wire??? Ive never had to do the timing since Ive had this truck!! Which wire is this??
 

scoutillac

1/2 ton status
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Posts
423
Reaction score
0
Location
Spokane, Wa.
It is right out of the fuse block on the engine side of the firewall. There is a quick connect plug. I over looked mine several times before I found it.
 
Top Bottom