FNG here.....Wasn't sure where to make the first post.

K5Devil

Devil Status
Premium Member
Reaction score
I picked up a 1985 GMC Jimmy today.

This is my first Jimmy/K5 and man, I am excited. (I am NOT a novice to all things Chevy/GMC)
Mechanic/Machinist by trade and son to a 40 year career now retired Chevrolet/GMC Mechanic/Machinist. A lot of Chevy been through my beer scented sweat and blood.

This truck came from Florida all the way to Washington. Only Rust is on the tailgate which needs replaced. Floors are solid.

4:88 Gears (So I was told......and after the 60 miles back home it definitely feels like), 383 Stroker > 700R4. 3/4 ton axle swap with all suspension lift done very nicely. Acceptable paint. Got the steering strengthener kit installed.

The interior needs help. Ill be using the forums to get some info on some of the issues.

There is a catch, which is why the price was so good for me.

There is a gnarly rattle at low-rpms. To me it sounds like u-joints or possibly an unbalanced drive shaft.
I am really hoping it is not loose torque converter/flywheel. To me, it seems to be the drive shaft, as I have had a truck do something similar to this before. At low rpms it sounds like you're dragging a bus behind you but if you step on it (And this thing launches quick) it will go away. Only around 5-30 mph is it noticeable and as you increase in speed it goes away and is completely gone at highway speeds. I did notice a loose exhaust hanger but I am pretty sure this came loose from the vibrations of the driveshaft. Super fun to drive.

Anyways, I seem to have started rattling on. Here are some pics. I am looking forward to talking with some guys with the knowledge I seek.

Cheers,
Devil

IMG_0773.jpg

IMG_0774.jpg

CK5

In my underwear
Administrator
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Author
Reaction score