Edelbrock Proflo 4

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by 6872xtc, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. skunked

    skunked phat block slush machine Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    16,901
    Likes Received:
    21,045
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    Shawn and Bent77 like this.
  2. Kain

    Kain 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Posts:
    4,396
    Likes Received:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lubbock Texas
    Build(s):
    1
    the one mrk5 posted, no it does not clear the fuel rail

    the 2 links you posted will do fine
     
  3. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    12,063
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    FYI, TBI sending units appear to be sold out everywhere. At the very least very few are in stock. The one I ordered on eBay got cancelled; the seller said their inventory has been low since covid shutdowns started. I've noticed in general I'm finding more stuff out of stock when shopping on Summit.

    I'm hoping maybe I can cut the kick bracket off the whole thing so I can still use the spark plug holder part of it.
     
  4. skunked

    skunked phat block slush machine Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    16,901
    Likes Received:
    21,045
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    It’s been a PITA to get a variety of parts the last few months. I feel summit is much better than it was though.
     
  5. Shawn

    Shawn Nuckin Futz! Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    1,342
    Location:
    5280'
    Build(s):
    4
    I wonder if I kept my old sending unit. Or tossed it. This is for a K5 tank so not sure they are the same as the truck tanks. There was nothing wrong with it. Put a new one in because I like wasting money. Walbro 450lph pump on the end.


    sender.jpg
     
  6. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    12,063
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    I was looking at K5 senders. For the pickup tank it would have to be the 25gal tank version to be the right depth, which was only done in 87 with the TBI. Then I figured out the sender would be to the side and I'm not sure if it would clear the side of the tank or the baffle tray. In the pickups, the float is inline with the tank front to back. Since they are hotdog tanks as @Bent77 likes to say.

    The other problem is the lines would be pointed towards the outside of the truck instead of towards the center. So unfortunately it would take a fair bit of work to make the K5 sender work, if it would even be possible. I don't have any desire to do a K5 tank in this truck. Maybe if it was a wheeling rig or long distance traveller, but for what it is it's not worth the effort.
     
  7. Bent77

    Bent77 lil meanie Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    32,529
    Likes Received:
    42,652
    Location:
    NoCo
    Build(s):
    1
    Unfortunately the ones for the hot dog tanks I no longer have
    :frown
     
  8. sweetk30

    sweetk30 let it all BURN ! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    35,282
    Likes Received:
    11,566
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    the sender is basicly the same just spun 180* for the 3 lines and index tab to lock it in on the tank for its position .

    i used a driver side in a pass side location for a few years by cutting off the tab and had no problems .
     
    6872xtc likes this.
  9. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    12,063
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    I kinda wondered if a person could get away with not using the tabs.
    They are like gold now. You could get lots of money for them due to scarcity.
     
  10. Bent77

    Bent77 lil meanie Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    32,529
    Likes Received:
    42,652
    Location:
    NoCo
    Build(s):
    1
    I didn’t receive gold for them, only rupies :dunno:
     
  11. imiceman44

    imiceman44 Hoarder extraordinaire Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    22,166
    Likes Received:
    5,947
    Location:
    Lincoln, CA
    Build(s):
    5
    I have thrown away a few in the past couple of years so I paid to get rid of them.
    I will check to see if I still have any left
     
  12. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    12,063
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    Did I read somewhere that @6872xtc mentioned valve cover interference and gasket thickness?
     
  13. 6872xtc

    6872xtc make mine modified Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6,828
    Likes Received:
    6,598
    Location:
    Palisade,Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    Yes, I ground the flanges of the valve covers at the injector bosses. Someone thought that thicker gaskets would help, but I don't necessarily believe it. Mine are medium thickness.
     
  14. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    12,063
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    I have pretty thick gaskets for the valve covers but I only installed the 1 for the cover that was leaking.

    It looks like the side with the thick gasket will clear, but the other side does not. First picture is the thick valve cover gasket.

    20201024_143151.jpg

    20201023_170436.jpg

    Those pics are without intake gaskets. Stock valve covers.

    So I'm pulling the other valve cover to install the thicker gasket. I'll post info on the gaskets if it works.
     
    6872xtc likes this.
  15. Shawn

    Shawn Nuckin Futz! Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    1,342
    Location:
    5280'
    Build(s):
    4
    Weird. I never had this problem. Using the black rubber gasket from Felpro. Valve covers were the tall alum. CHEVROLET model.
    valvecovers.jpg

    Looks like many others have same issue with different manifolds if you do a google search.

    https://www.chevelles.com/threads/to-trim-valve-cover-or-clearance-intake.1093192/

    I wonder if there is anything on the Edelbrocks forums about this?

    Edit- After looking closely, I don't see why mine would fit compared to others. My only thought is I do have AFR heads which might push them up more away from the intake. Also... if your heads and/or block deck have been milled flat in the past, I can see that possibly causing this issue.
    vc-to-intake.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020 at 3:12 PM
  16. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    12,063
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    The cover that didn't clear on mine had a black rubber gasket that was about 1/8" thick. The thicker blue FelPro gasket did clear, only by a sliver. Stock valve covers and heads. They label the FelPro gaskets as 1/4" thick.

    2020-10-24 21.17.28.jpg

    2020-10-24 21.17.39.jpg
     
  17. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    12,063
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    Have another accessory bracket issue.

    2020-10-25 12.24.05.jpg

    My thought is to cut off the piece that goes to the t-stat housing and re-weld it on.
     
    Kain likes this.
  18. Bent77

    Bent77 lil meanie Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    32,529
    Likes Received:
    42,652
    Location:
    NoCo
    Build(s):
    1
    Thought some of those T stat housings had the stud on both ends
     
  19. Bent77

    Bent77 lil meanie Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    32,529
    Likes Received:
    42,652
    Location:
    NoCo
    Build(s):
    1
    You know there is another way....
     
    Fastereddie likes this.
  20. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    20,172
    Likes Received:
    12,063
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    Yeah I was looking at these:

    icb-551411_ec_xl.jpg

    But I think I want to keep the original because I like having that hose holder there. I haven't made up my mind completely tho because I like the ideal of that turn-buckle for tightening the belt. And it's not terribly expensive, ~$35.
     
    Kain likes this.

Share This Page