CK5 Network
Become a member of the largest online community for Chevy K5 Blazer, Suburban and C/K series truck owners!

'81 K5, "BlaZeus"- How to NOT build the ultimate budget K5; 3 & 4 link build

BlaZeus

The Real Mateo
Reaction score
Hey there folks. Ive been meaning to start a build thread for a while now but it seems that it has just never happened because there is always work to be done to the rig so instead i just spend all my time working on it and not writing about the work.
First off, I'd like to thank my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, for giving me my gifts and talents, resources and ability to do what I love and I am passionate about.

Second, a couple housekeeping things:
My name is Matt. The rig is BlaZeus.
I graduated from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo and am now working as a manufacturing engineer.
This is the first truck I have ever really built. I started off getting into off roading with my last truck, a 1994 k1500 with 6" lift and 35" tires. Learned how to work on that myself and started building up my tool collection because I couldn't afford to pay anyone else to fix it. Found that the Internet is your friend and fixed pretty much the entire front end. Sold that and got into motorcycles. Had a dual sport, then a Harley that I built up real nice and then got bored of it. So then sold it to buy BlaZeus off my buddy and make a sizable investment in tools.

I bought it off a good buddy of mine in February, 2015 after the girl who i had fallen in love with, told me she didn't see us working out. Well, guess what did work out? A badass, neck breaking, panty dropping truck that i have put blood, sweat, and tears into and that I can say I built this truck with my bare hands, with limited knowledge, tools, and money.