CK5 Network
Become a member of the largest online community for Chevy K5 Blazer, Suburban and C/K series truck owners!

94 Z28 coupe

JoshHefnerX

3/4 ton status
Premium Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Posts
5,166
Reaction score
3,941
Location
Glendale, AZ
Cant See Cheech Marin GIF
 

Bent77

lil meanie
Staff member
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Posts
35,901
Reaction score
50,391
Location
NoCo
Changed the throttle body, now need to get it sorted out. Throttle blades are slicking in the bore. When I recentered them it seemed better until I drove it

Beyond that, I did upload the one tune that GM produced as a service update while the vehicle was still under warranty
This changes the downshift parameters on the 3>2, but strangly enough also cuts fuel across the entire fuel map, 7% in some places.
Figured I would let it deal with those changes and sort itself back to normal before I start on correcting the tuning at idle. Seems to be fairly common to add as much as 10 degrees timing off idle to get to 34*
 
Last edited:

Bent77

lil meanie
Staff member
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Posts
35,901
Reaction score
50,391
Location
NoCo
Use Loctite on those throttle blade screws! Personal experience.....
You know it! Right now sanding the throttle blades. Once it cycles good I’ll glue those back in lol
 

Bent77

lil meanie
Staff member
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Posts
35,901
Reaction score
50,391
Location
NoCo
Radiused all the edges of the throttle plates and drilled the screw holes a bit bigger. Seems good on the bench, guess we’ll start over after the dog appt
 

Bent77

lil meanie
Staff member
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Posts
35,901
Reaction score
50,391
Location
NoCo
I’ve had it off 6-7 times. Acts like the throttle shaft or blades still. Trying to recenter the blades has no effect
 

Fastereddie

Sorry if I offended you. Not.
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Posts
5,221
Solutions
1
Reaction score
10,018
Location
Henderson Nevada
So it’s good on the bench but no good on the car? Is the gasket hanging it up? Maybe it’s warped and goes funky when you tighten it down??
 

Bent77

lil meanie
Staff member
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Posts
35,901
Reaction score
50,391
Location
NoCo
New, other than me messing with it with sand paper and dremel. No returns now

It sits back from the gasket a ways, and I'd "think" the block of aluminum would be solid enough to not warp. At this point I'm putting the original one back on. Might disassemble it and check the shaft. Even unhooked the cruise cable thinking that was the hangup.
Might see if I can buy a replacement set of throttle plates or even a used one

Kind of frustrating
 

6872xtc

make mine modified
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Posts
7,573
Reaction score
7,809
Location
Palisade,Colorado
Do you think that the blades are wedging when the throttle snaps closed? Could you test this by adjusting the throttle stop somehow? (Since I don't know if it has an adjustable throttle stop)

That would be more than frustrating, but at least you are handling it well.
 

Bent77

lil meanie
Staff member
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Posts
35,901
Reaction score
50,391
Location
NoCo
I’ve messed with the stop adjustment ad infinitum, relearning the IAC. Just sticks
 

Bent77

lil meanie
Staff member
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Posts
35,901
Reaction score
50,391
Location
NoCo
Did not think so, but was going to try and replicate it so I could test
 

6872xtc

make mine modified
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Posts
7,573
Reaction score
7,809
Location
Palisade,Colorado
I’ve messed with the stop adjustment ad infinitum, relearning the IAC. Just sticks
Ahh. Ok. I was thinking that maybe scotch brite on the edges of the blades could help if the stop adjustment told you anything.
Guess not.
 

tRustyK5

Big meanie
Staff member
Super Moderator
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Author
Joined
Jul 23, 2000
Posts
39,918
Reaction score
8,488
Location
E-town baby!
Is it possible it's something in the throttle cable portion? a bit of a fray somewhere, or a kink or something?
 

Bent77

lil meanie
Staff member
Moderator
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Posts
35,901
Reaction score
50,391
Location
NoCo
Nah, everything was copacetic with the factory TB. Moving the TPS, no bind there. Gotta pull it off
 

Fastereddie

Sorry if I offended you. Not.
Premium Member
GMOTM Winner
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Posts
5,221
Solutions
1
Reaction score
10,018
Location
Henderson Nevada
Nah, everything was copacetic with the factory TB. Moving the TPS, no bind there. Gotta pull it off
Wait, could the blades be catching on the plenum? I remember porting the crap out of mine when I put the 58 on there
 
Top Bottom