holley sniper - V - fitechefi ---- UPDATE : holley sniper has ARIVED

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by sweetk30, Feb 8, 2017.

  1. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    27,129
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    play time

    0515171421b.jpg

    0515171421a.jpg
     
    mrk5 and waybad1 like this.
  2. Kain

    Kain 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Posts:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Lubbock Texas
    Build(s):
    1
    what do you plan to do for fuel lines?
    i ask cause the fitech tecnishine said use 3/8 both feed and return.
    (i already got a 25 foot roll of steel 3/8 line from orielys for 30 bucks)
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    27,129
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    have not got that far yet .

    right from there quick setup book tho its min 3/8" feed and 5/16" return lines.
     
  4. Kain

    Kain 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Posts:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Lubbock Texas
    Build(s):
    1
    ya i thought i could use the return thats on there but the tech i talked to said you'll get better performance and life out of your fuel pump with a 3/8 return. I dont have my kit yet but i have all the lines, fittings sending unit ,pump and filter.
    I will order the kit in 18 days(going fitech). i want it so bad. its starting to get in the 90s here and the hard starts are a p. i. t. a.
     
  5. ekajkrats

    ekajkrats 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    North SF Bay Area, CA
    I'm using my stock fuel line for the return line without any problems and a -6an for my feed. I have a fuel pressure gauge on my feed and another on the return and both read great, so I am not seeing any restrictions on the return line. If I am recalling correctly it is reading somewhere around 3 psi or a little more on the return.
     
  6. Kain

    Kain 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Posts:
    2,556
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Lubbock Texas
    Build(s):
    1
    im going to use the stock 3/8 as return and run a steel line 3/8 for feed so i dont have 14 feet of braided hose.
     
  7. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    10,373
    Likes Received:
    9,026
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    I ran a 5/16" return per FiTech's advice. Unless you're running some huge flowing pump that's sending a lot of excess fuel back to the tank there is no reason to run anything larger.
     
  8. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    14,255
    Likes Received:
    3,308
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    I used the factory supply and return lines.
     
    Kain likes this.
  9. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    10,373
    Likes Received:
    9,026
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    TBI truck right? Some of us are carb or diesel.....
     
  10. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    14,255
    Likes Received:
    3,308
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    Yes, TBI originally. The supply lines are 3/8" and the returns are 5/16".
     
    skunked likes this.
  11. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    14,255
    Likes Received:
    3,308
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    I've driven the pickup to work and back 3 times now. Mostly highway driving for 30 minutes each way. A couple of observations:
    1. One difference between the Sniper and factory TBI with an automatic. The factory TBI would idle at around 750RPM in park and then drop down to around 500-600RPM in gear. The Sniper will hold the same RPM regardless of whether it's in gear or in park/neutral.
    2. The throttle return spring is pretty stiff without adding one like you would with a carb. I'm probably going to fab an extension to gain a little mechanical advantage. Otherwise I'm afraid it will be hard to feather the throttle on the rocks.
    This morning was 34°F so I figured it would be a good cold start test. Let the fuel pump run up to pressure, cranked it to start and it fired right up. Didn't even get in the truck to do it.
     
    Kain likes this.
  12. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    10,373
    Likes Received:
    9,026
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    @mrk5 where did your warm idle end up? We found 650 as the sweet spot on the 502. Another thing we noticed on the 502 is the better vacuum at idle over the carb, the brakes work a lot better now.
     
  13. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    14,255
    Likes Received:
    3,308
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    It's at 600 but I've been thinking 650 might be better. 750 was too much IMO, at least with the stock cam. I should wait to see how it feels on a trail.

    I've been thinking about messing with the cold idle more but not for performance reasons. I'm just used to my other vehicles idling at a higher RPM than the Holley does when cold. It seems weird when the Holley is idling lower than I expect so it makes me feel like something is wrong even tho it's idling fine.
     
    skunked likes this.
  14. skunked

    skunked in the garage Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    10,373
    Likes Received:
    9,026
    Location:
    Placer County CA
    Build(s):
    2
    take the 650 figure with a grain of salt, he has a decent cam in it. It's more about how it feels anyway right?
     
  15. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    14,255
    Likes Received:
    3,308
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    Yeah that's why I'm thinking I should leave it.
     
    skunked likes this.
  16. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    27,129
    Likes Received:
    1,897
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    @mrk5 does the sniper show fuel pressure on the display ?

    I have seen it on some and not on others . or is it just a option to what your screen shows ?

    I would like to know if it shows fuel pressure or not . if not I guess a gauge is in order .
     
  17. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator Vendor GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    14,255
    Likes Received:
    3,308
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    I thought I saw pictures with fuel pressure on the handheld but I have not found it. You can setup a custom dash display but if one of the options is fuel pressure, I have not found it.

    I used a gauge at the fuel inlet. A Fitech gauge, ironically. Glad I did, was handy and I found a pinched return line I might not have otherwise.
     

Share This Page