Edelbrock Proflo 4

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by 6872xtc, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. 6872xtc

    6872xtc make mine modified Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    5,528
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    Location:
    Palisade,Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    Not sure... key the mic while at a stoplight, truck died. Immediately restarted, then I tell him truck died, and it did it again!
    :doah:

    Restart, shut mouth and drive off!
     
    Big Ray and Scribbles like this.
  2. Babaganoosh

    Babaganoosh 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    12,970
    Likes Received:
    5,810
    Location:
    Phoenix Arizona
    Build(s):
    2
    I wonder if you got close enough to each other you could shut both down?
     
  3. folkenheath

    folkenheath Innovate Engineering Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    831
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Build(s):
    1
    This sounds like it could be EMI or grounding/wiring issues. I'm a mechanical engineer originally but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express Last night. Scratch that, what I meant is I worked for Honeywell for several years when we sold cam and crank sensors to GM and Chrysler, and we had to do a lot of EMI testing with the sensors using oscilloscopes to monitor the outputs while we bombard them with interference to make sure they can take it. They would test them so thoroughly that the car would have to be in a locked chamber controlled remotely because I was told if a person was in the chamber it would kill them. I asked, if the driver is killed does the car really need to keep running? Maybe they were exaggerating, I'm not sure, either way I bought an o-scope for home use too. If there was an issue the moment they transferred the signal through the airwaves the vehicle would die as the signals would get messed up and the ecu wouldn't know what to do.

    First thing I would say is to check power and grounds to both the ECU and the CB. The ECU should be directly to the battery with both power and ground with a solid clean reliable connection. I can't remember how many times I've seen issues with that using EFI systems, it absolutely has to be to the battery to avoid electrical gremlins that can cause all sorts of running issues.

    Next I would make sure you have a solid power and ground to the CB, shouldn't need to be to the battery but it needs to be reliable, intermittent connections can cause issues with the rest of the system.

    If both of these check out OK Babaganoosh's question of whether one rig can effect another or whether it's one rig or both rigs that get effected by the CB can help narrow down whether it's a wiring issue or a interference transferred through airwaves.

    If its a wiring issue you need to fix it. Try not to run the CB wires in parallel with any EFI/ECU wires and make sure all wiring is reliable with clean connections and terminations. Sometimes twisted pairs of wires can help keep that signal clean and solid grounds and many of them can help avoid ground loop and voltage issues.

    If it's an airwave interference issue then we would test that by shielding the suspected component with aluminum foil and then running the test again (in your case the CB test). Aluminum foil is a temporary test and once you figure out the issue you can build a more permanent shield (easier) or add electrical filters to filter out the interference before it enters the affected device.
     
    Big Ray, beags86 and Fastereddie like this.
  4. Babaganoosh

    Babaganoosh 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Posts:
    12,970
    Likes Received:
    5,810
    Location:
    Phoenix Arizona
    Build(s):
    2
    I was just trying to egg more husband/wife drama on the trail that I'm sure these two are going to get into. :rotfl: I don't know how many times I can say it but I'm bummed I didn't go.
     
  5. Bent77

    Bent77 lil meanie Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    26,399
    Likes Received:
    32,526
    Location:
    NoCo
    Build(s):
    1
    Mine did it away from all the others before. All power to battery

    Was more of an info thing. Found several other blazer Bash folks having other radios, even the race radios, turning random things on and off

    Truck runs fine otherwise
     
  6. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    17,913
    Likes Received:
    8,209
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    Maybe you guys need to turn the gain down on your CB's. @Bent77 weren't we using CB on the Chinaman's run?
     
  7. Bent77

    Bent77 lil meanie Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    26,399
    Likes Received:
    32,526
    Location:
    NoCo
    Build(s):
    1
  8. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    17,913
    Likes Received:
    8,209
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    Was I killing your truck the whole time and didn't know it?
     
  9. JoshHefnerX

    JoshHefnerX 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Posts:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    Build(s):
    1
    Where are you running the antenna/cable at? May try moving the antenna if it's near components.
     
  10. 6872xtc

    6872xtc make mine modified Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    5,528
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    Location:
    Palisade,Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    I have the CB mounted on the left side of the center console, the antenna cable goes rearward to the floor hump, then the the passenger side and out to the right rear by the tailgate. Power and ground for it are ran the the left sill plate and to the fuse box and firewall.

    My ECM is in the factory location for a '90 K5, all ot the wiring goes out through the original hole. Main power and ground go to the right side battery. (No left battery yet anyway)
     
  11. JoshHefnerX

    JoshHefnerX 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Posts:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    Build(s):
    1
    Brought this up to a buddy of mine that's an old ham operator. Said bad SWR could cause all kinds of interference - splatter. Suggested making sure the SWR was as low as you could get it. Antenna lead length play into that - want to hit the 1/4 or 1/2 wavelength - use channel 20 for the length calc (22.3ft for 1/4 wave). Also suggested running the antenna lead into some steel braided cable and grounding both ends of that.

    Also recommended a ferrite on the power leads.
     
    Kain likes this.
  12. sweetk30

    sweetk30 selective wrench turner guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    32,665
    Likes Received:
    7,804
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
  13. JoshHefnerX

    JoshHefnerX 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Posts:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    Build(s):
    1
    Just had another thought. Try running the cb off a separate battery. Would narrow down the problem to power related vs antenna related. Power leads could be introducing enough noise to screw up the ref/sensor voltages to cause the ecm to poop up.
     
  14. JoshHefnerX

    JoshHefnerX 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Posts:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    Build(s):
    1
    Any update on the CB?
     
    Kain likes this.
  15. Kain

    Kain 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Posts:
    3,566
    Likes Received:
    585
    Location:
    Lubbock Texas
    Build(s):
    1
    THIS!^^^^
     
  16. Big Ray

    Big Ray 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Posts:
    12,954
    Likes Received:
    3,435
    Location:
    Eastern NC
    Are you running a big linear amp in that cb? Could be your issue.
     
  17. 6872xtc

    6872xtc make mine modified Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    5,528
    Likes Received:
    4,937
    Location:
    Palisade,Colorado
    Build(s):
    1
    No, I have not remembered to get ahold of Edelbrock. I have been sidetracked with other things.

    Nope, no amp on either of our trucks.
    I did discover that being 20' away from another truck while they talked was not a problem with that CB. Not sure if this is fine with any radio.
     
  18. mrk5

    mrk5 The Sticker Guy Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Posts:
    17,913
    Likes Received:
    8,209
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    Build(s):
    2
    This has me so excited for the next trail run with you guys. Knowing that I can trigger your trucks off just by using the CB will be super fun. :D :haha:
     
    skunked, Kain and Justin V like this.
  19. Bent77

    Bent77 lil meanie Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Posts:
    26,399
    Likes Received:
    32,526
    Location:
    NoCo
    Build(s):
    1
    Yeah it doesn’t do that. Good try
     
  20. sweetk30

    sweetk30 selective wrench turner guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    32,665
    Likes Received:
    7,804
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    Build(s):
    4
    Kain likes this.

Share This Page